Theis seeks nominations for public safety officer, front-line worker, veteran of the year awards

LANSING, Mich.  State Sen. Lana Theis on Monday announced contests to honor the service of the 22nd Senate District’s public safety officers, front-line workers and veterans.

“Livingston and Washtenaw counties are blessed with dedicated public safety officers, front-line workers and veterans who serve or have served our communities with professionalism and dedication to their fellow Michiganders,” said Theis, R-Brighton. “I am looking forward to giving these brave men and women the recognition they deserve.”

The awards, open now through Feb. 15, will recognize people from each of the following categories:

  • Public Safety Officer Awards
    • Police officer
    • Deputy
    • Firefighter
    • EMS person
    • Dispatcher
    • Jail officer/Corrections officer
  • Front-line Worker Awards
    • Physicians
    • Nurses
    • Pharmacists
    • Grocery employees
    • Truck/Delivery drivers
    • Other workers on the front lines
  • Veteran of the Year Award
    • Any veteran from any era of service of any branch of the armed forces.

Nominations should be submitted by filling out a form at the following websites:

District residents wishing to submit a nomination should include their name and contact information, the nominee’s name and position, and a description of why the nominee deserves an award.

Nominations may also be submitted via email at [email protected] or by phone at 517-373-2420.